Do you want to close your Microsoft account? Or delete an Outlook or Hotmail account? Here’s the method for doing that.
There are plenty of Webmail services and Social media platforms available these days. We can use any of them to communicate and interact with each other, all we need to do is create an account. Creating a new account is a simple and easy task, anyone can create a new account within a few minutes on any of other services. So, there might be chances that you are not fond of Hotmail anymore, so you might be willing to delete Hotmail account permanently. Because there are plenty of other options, maybe you have found a better option that the Hotmail or Outlook.
So, keeping an account on each of the platforms is quite risky even when you are not using it. Because these accounts carry our messages and personal details as well. Therefore, the best choice for you is to delete the old accounts. Deleting Hotmail account is an easy process, but how are you going to do this? You need not worry about anything, we are here to help you out. In this guide, we will make you learn step by step how you can delete your Hotmail account.
In case you want to delete your Hotmail account, but you no longer remember the password, you can follow this guide to recover your Hotmail password:
Hotmail Password Recovery
And, if you decide not to delete your account, you can ensure the safety of your account by changing the password of your Hotmail account. To reset your Hotmail password, you must follow this guide to complete this task properly:
Reset Hotmail Password.
How to Delete your Hotmail Account?
First of all, you will need to Sign in to your Hotmail account. After signing in, your account will open and you can continue to begin the process. Now, navigate to account.microsoft.com to manage your account’s settings.
Inside the Microsoft account, you will see a security tab, go to the tab and click on security options. You will find these in the bottom part of the page. After you click on the security options, it will show you a button which says, close account. Click on the button and move to step 3.
Lastly, you will get information from Microsoft regarding the steps that you should do before permanently deleting your account.
But, in case you want to retrieve your account, Microsoft gives you a time span of 60 days, within which you can access your account back and it will terminate the account deletion process. But, if the time period of 60 days passes, your account will delete permanently and you will no longer be able to access it again in your lifetime.
Once the account is gone, you will no longer receive emails from anyone. And, since Microsoft is handling all this, if you delete your Hotmail account, the Microsoft account also goes away with it. Therefore, you must think before you decide to delete your account permanently. Here are a few guidelines that you must check before you proceed to delete Hotmail account.
- Always check the Microsoft billing services before you delete your Microsoft account along with the Hotmail account. You should check if there are any active subscriptions to any plans. If you have any active subscriptions, you might not be able to delete your account. So, the subscription plans must be revoked. After that, you can delete your account safely.
- If you are willing to delete your Hotmail account permanently. Keep in mind that you will need to remove all your other accounts as well which includes, Windows Live and Microsoft account.
- In case you have some unused credits in your account, you must use them before you delete your Microsoft account permanently. Credits can be in your Skype account, so you must use them if possible otherwise you will be dumping all those credits to trash. Those credits will no longer benefit you after you delete your Microsoft account.
- If you are an Xbox user, check your account balances as well. Also, do remember to remove any credentials or credit cards, if attached to your Microsoft account before deleting it.
- You will be given a time period of 60 days, if you want to retrieve your account, you can log in once again. After 60 days, you will have no longer access to the account.
- Once you delete your account, even in the time period of 60 days given to you. You will not receive any messages from anyone. The account stays in an inactive state.
So, if you have surely decided to delete your Hotmail account, you can follow the steps that are given above in this guide. Therefore, by following the steps, you can successfully delete your Hotmail account. But, we recommend you to go through all the guidelines that are given above to ensure proper safety of your information.
However, coming back to Hotmail is an easy process, if you want to create a new account, you can follow this guide:
Create Hotmail Account